Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


  • Makes recommendations as to the orderly, physical growth, and development of the community in relation to land subdivision, planning, and zoning
  • Makes recommendations in matters of zoning changes, variances, special use permits, parcel maps, subdivision maps, and other related matters


  • 7:00 pm
  • First and third Thursday of every month
  • Location: Community Room, Municipal Services Building
    • 33 Arroyo Drive
    • South San Francisco, CA


Planning Commissioners hold four-year terms or serve until the appointment of a qualified successor. Commissioners are limited to three consecutive terms. The members currently serving the Planning Commission are as follows:

  • JulieAnn Murphy, Chair
  • Alan Wong, Vice-Chair
  • Robert Bernardo
  • Michele Evans
  • Norm Faria
  • Sam Shihadeh
  • Alex Tzang

Commissioners receive a $50 stipend per attended meeting and participate in the Public Agency Retirement System. Find out how to apply to be a commissioner.


For any questions regarding the Planning Commission, please call or email the Planning Division at (650) 877-8535 or