Cultural Arts Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Mission Statement
The South San Francisco Cultural Arts Commission is organized to support, promote and protect community interest and diversity in art, culture and creative expression; Connect and build community among local artists of all ages to encourage and support artist education and development; Improve infrastructure, economic development and cultural diversity through acquisition and exhibition of public art; Celebrate and preserve diverse and significant heritage through culturally sensitive exhibitions of art in all its forms.


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Third Thursday of the month
  • Betty Weber Room, Municipal Services Building
    33 Arroyo Dr.
    South San Francisco, CA 94080


The Commission is comprised of eleven members, appointed to four-year terms by the City Council. Commissioners are limited to three consecutive terms. The Commission is staffed by the Parks and Recreation Department.

  • Shane Looper,  Chair
  • Michael DeNatale, Vice Chair
  • Maria Teresa Avelar
  • Lenita Boldenweck
  • Sarah Bowen
  • Ryan Campagna
  • Peter Foley
  • Loretta Fornaciari
  • PaulaClaudine Hobson-Coard
  • Jessica Madrid-Nickle
  • Florida Ventura

To contact: Cultural Art Commission member

Find out how to apply for the Commission.


The purpose of the Commission is to encourage and promote cultural arts activities within the community and to act as an advisory body to the City Council on matters pertaining to the arts and cultural affairs.

Programs administered by the Commission include:

  • Acquisition and exhibit of public art
  • Sponsorship of art events, including the annual Youth Art Show
  • Youth Scholarship Program

Contact Us

Cultural Arts Commission
SSF Parks and Recreation Department
33 Arroyo Drive
South San Francisco, CA 94080

Ph: 650-829-3800