Citizens' Oversight Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

South San Francisco voters approved Measure W, a half-cent transaction and use tax in November 2015. As part of the Measure W implementation process, the City appointed members to serve on the Measure W Citizens’ Oversight Committee. The Oversight Committee reports to the City Council regarding the collection and expenditure of Measure W funds.

The Citizens' Oversight Committee meetings are held at the City Manager's Conference Room, City Hall, 400 Grand Avenue, South San Francisco, CA 94080, every EVEN month on the first Wednesday of that month at 6:30 p.m.

The Citizens' Oversight Committee consists of five members appointed by the City Council.

Meet Our Citizens' Oversight Committee


Christine Wong, Chair, four-year term

christine wong

Christine Wong is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA )in California and she has over 20 years of experience in financial management and reporting, budgeting, treasury management, auditing and public meetings.  Prior to her retirement, Christine was the Chief Financial Officer at the State Bar of California, a State agency that regulates the legal profession in California. 




Luis Alberto Fernandez De Paz, Vice Chair, three-year term

luis_de_pazLuis has been a South San Francisco resident since 2004 He received his B.A. in Latin@ Studies and a minor in International Relations from San Francisco State University in 2015. During his time at San Francisco State University Luis was very involved with student organizations, programs and student government. He held multiple leadership positions including Vice-President of Finance with Associated Students Inc. where oversaw a $3 million dollar budget and provided financial management for the Board of Directors. After graduation Luis was selected to participate in the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Public Policy Fellowship in Washington, D.C. During his time in D.C. Luis worked in the office of Congressman Raul Grijalva where he collaborated with policy staff to research, track and manage housing, labor, telecommunications, education and technology legislation. Luis is currently working on obtaining his Master's in Public Administration at San Francisco State University where he currently works as the College Readiness & Outreach Specialist.

Herman Alcalde, four-year term

herman alcalde

Herman Alcalde has been a South San Francisco resident for 50 years. Herman is a retired Principal Engineer from the City and County of San Francisco (CCSF), where he served for 37 years. In addition to managing public works construction projects for CCSF, he reviewed budgets and bond issues. graduated from the College of San Mateo, (AA in Engineering), University of San Francisco (BA in Business Administration), and San Francisco State University (MBA in Finance) and is a Licensed Civil Engineer in California.

Mike Brosnan, three-year term

mike brosnanMike Brosnan has been a South San Francisco resident since 1967. Mike served the citizens of South City as a police officer for more than 28 years, rising to the rank of Deputy Chief. During the last eight years of his career, Mike participated in the city’s budget preparation process as he was directly responsible for the police department finances. Mike Brosnan is proud to continue to serve.

Bill Zemke, Chair, three-year term

Bill Zemke has lived in South San Francisco since 1976. During this time, Bill has served on the City’s Historic Preservation Commission and the Planning Commission. Bill is a docent with the South Sbill zemkean Francisco Historical Society and volunteer with the City’s Improving Public Places Committee. Bill is also a licensed Civil Engineer, retired from PG&E with 38 years of experience in project management, administration, and compliance.